The Association of Power Utilities of Africa

The Association of Power Utilities of Africa (APUA), formerly known as the Union of Producers, Transporters and Distributors of Electrical Energy in Africa (UPDEA), was created in 1970 with its headquarters in Abidjan, in Côte d’Ivoire. Today the association has 57 active members, as well as affiliate, associate and observer members.

presentation of the website
Play the video

A word from the Director General of APUA

If electricity is the engine of the economy and the level of development of a country can be measured by the amount of energy consumed per capita and per year, the place of power utility in the world is not to be denied: "they are at the heart of our lives" to quote a slogan dear to one of our member companies.


February 12, 2024,

Please find below the link to access the presentations from the latest workshop on digitizing public services and improving performance in Africa, from February 12 to 14, in Cape Town, South Africa.

Members of APUA

The Association of Power Utilities of Africa (APUA) aims to promote the development and integration of the African electricity sector through active cooperation among its members and with all stakeholders in the international electricity sector and donors.

Calls for tenders from member companies

You would like to have access to all the tenders launched by our member companies and receive an email notification each time a new tender is launched?

Our partners


East African Power Pool (EAPP)

Southern African Power Pool (SAPP)


Arab Electricity Union (AEU)

Think SmartGrids (TSG)

Central African Power Pool (CAP)

Mediterranean Energy Observatory (OME)

Latin American Energy Organization (OLADE)

MEDELEC (UAE, APUA, Comelec, Eurelectric, ENTSO-E, OME)

International Hydropower Association (IHA)

Institute of the Francophonie for Sustainable Development (IFDD)

Global Smart Energy Federation (GSEF)

Global Energy Interconnection Development and Cooperation Organization (GEIDCO)

Edison Electric Institute (EEI)

West African Power Pool (WAPP)

African Union Commission (AUC)

Maghreb Electricity Committee (COMELEC)

World Energy Council (WEC)

World Council on Large Electric Systems (CIGRE)

Infrastructure Consortium for Africa (ICA)

International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)

World Bank Group (WB)

African Development Bank (AfDB) Group

African Union Development Agency (AUDA-NEPAD)

International Solar Alliance (ISA)

African Forum of Utility Regulators (AFUR)

African Electrotechnical Standardization Commission (AFSEC)

African Energy Commission (AFREC)

French Development Agency (AFD)